Home > 2015 Spotlight

Taiwan Comprehensive University System announces its new president

Tainan, Taiwan, January 14, 2015

National Sun Yat-Sen University (NSYSU) president Dr. Hung-Duen Yang will serve as the president of Taiwan Comprehensive University System (TCUS), a research-led university alliance in Taiwan, announced TCUS at a press conference held at National Cheng Kung University (NCKU), southern Taiwan, on January 14.

NSYSU president Yang will succeed NCKU president Hwung-Hweng Hwung and take office in February.

Yang said, “This year TCUS will visit TU9, the alliance of leading Institutes of Technology in Germany, and the University of Texas System in America, reaching out for international alliance.”

Hwung said, during my term we are honored to have Dr. Paul Ching-Wu Chu as the Honorary Chancellor of TCUS and under his leadership we had initiated several programs during the past four years.

A joint admission program for sports talents was carried out in 2013 allowing graduate students in the four universities to have more options in taking courses, according to Hwung.

“We had organized an International Summer School (ISS) program sharing academic resources and working on providing quality higher education options to both domestic and international students,” he said.

Pooled the strengths of the four universities, transnational research teams were launched earlier as commitment to strengthen the institute’s research excellence, Hwung added.

“Our next step is to seek international alliance. We will reach out for more international academic collaboration with university alliance in America and European countries as well,” according to the new TCUS president Yang.

He also said that TCUS will also continue to carry out the joint admission program, expanding from master level to doctorial level.

Based on the strengths of the universities, ISS will kick off in July. The students can receive discounted rates and course credit, according to Yang.

Established in 2011, the alliance was formed by National Cheng Kung University (NCKU), National Sun Yat-Sen University (NSYSU), National Chung Hsing University (NCHU) and National Chung Cheng University (NCCU).

The four member universities of TCUS are all in southern or central Taiwan forming alliance to integrate educational resources in that part of Taiwan and to drive a comprehensive development of various industries in Taiwan.
Provider : News Center
Date : 104.01.14
Click Num  
Forward to friend
Please input CAPTCHA