Taiwanese, German universities sign MOU to strengthen partnership

Tainan, Taiwan, November 30, 2016

National Cheng Kung University (NCKU) President Huey-Jen Jenny Su who also serves as the head of the Taiwan Comprehensive University System (TCUS), signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) on cooperation in Berlin Tuesday with Hans Jurgen Promel, president of TU9 Universities, a German alliance.

The MOU between a Taiwanese alliance of universities and a German one will promote interaction and cooperation in research and teaching between the two groups of universities.

TCUS is the first university alliance in Taiwan which has signed cooperation MOU with international university alliance.

According to Su, before official signing of the MOU, the academic exchanges between the two sides are quite frequent.

The interaction among the member schools included sister school partnership, double academic system, research and academic exchanges, exchange of teachers and students and other cooperation agreements.

The TCUS, set up in 2011, includes four national universities -- Chung Hsing (Taichung), Chung Cheng (Chiayi), Cheng Kung (Tainan) and Sun Yat-sen (Kaohsiung).

TU9, nine leading German institutes of technology, is composed of RWTH Aachen University, TU Berlin, TU Braunschweig, TU Darmstadt, TU Dresden, Leibniz Universitat Hannover, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, TU Munchen and University of Stuttgart.
Provider: NCKU News
Date: 2016/11/30