NCKU Distinguished Alumna Diane Ying Receives 2021 SOPA Lifetime Achievement Award

Writing by NCKU News Center. Photo provided by CommonWealth Magazine Group.
Diane Ying, NCKU distinguished alumna, received the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA). Graduated from NCKU Department of Foreign Languages and Literature in 1964, Diane Ying founded the CommonWealth Magazine, which was described by the New York Times as a magazine that mirrors the growth of Taiwan.
The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) is a Hong Kong based not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism and endorse best practices for all local and regional publishing platforms in the Asia Pacific region. On June 24, the yearly SOPA Editorial Awards was streamed on SOPAAsia YouTube channel, where the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Diane Ying in recognition for her contributions to journalism.
Diane Ying is the Chairman and Editor-in-Chief of CommonWealth Magazine Group, which includes CommonWealth Magazine, CommonHealth Magazine, Cheers Magazine, and CommonWealth Parenting.
In 1981, Diane Ying and friends founded CommonWealth Magazine, upholding professionalism in journalism and insisting on publishing prospective, just, and inspiring news pieces for the society. In 1985, NCKU presented the first Distinguished Alumni awards to Diane Ying, Pei-Fen Cheng, Nan-Cheng Su, and Poh-Hsiung Wu.
In 1987, Diane Ying received the Ramon Magsaysay Award. The Ramon Magsaysay Award has been referred to as the Asian Nobel. The Ramon Magsaysay Award described CommonWealth Magazine as "more than a publishing success," and that "Ying's magazine is establishing standards for journalism in Taiwan." The establishment of CommonWealth Magazine brought positive changes to finance reporting in Taiwan and has become an important force that propelled Taiwan to move forward. CommonWealth Magazine is the first successful case of magazine made with high-quality and professional journalism spirit.
In the past few decades, Diane Ying has received recognition, both domestic and abroad, for her contributions and influence in the field of journalism. She has been selected Ten Outstanding Young Women, Distinguished Alumnus of University of Iowa, and has received the Golden Tripod Awards by the Ministry of Culture. In 2011, she received Lifetime Achievement Award from the Foundation for Excellent Journalism Award. In 2012, she received Special Contribution Award in the Golden Tripod Awards.
Watch the SOPA Editorial Awards here:
Provider: News Center
Date: 2021-06-30